May 20, 2011  5:30 PM

PCPA Foundation to honor three community leaders at Walk of Stars, June 8

Walk of Stars

On Friday, the Portland Center for the Performing Arts Foundation announced the three community leaders that will be honored at the 2011 Portland Walk of Stars luncheon on June 8. Honorees include: Jacob Avshalomov, former conductor of Portland Youth Philharmonic; Linda Magee, Executive Director of Chamber Music Northwest; and Sondra Pearlman, founder of Oregon Children’s Theatre.

"The PCPA Foundation is honored to recognize these individuals who have contributed so much to the Portland arts community," said Gary Maffei, President of the PCPA Foundation. "They all play a major role in why Portland is such a vibrant and thriving city."

All honorees will have a granite star placed on Main Street in front of Antoinette Hatfield Hall. In addition to being honored with a star, each honoree receives a bronze folly bollard created by Portland artist Valerie Otani. The folly bollards represent the wise fools from popular theater traditions of different cultures. They embody the free spirits, whose antics give us insight into our lives.

About the nominees

Jacob Avshalomov, former musical director and conductor of the Portland Youth Philharmonic

"Mr. A," as he is affectionately known, served as musical director and conductor for the Portland Youth Philharmonic from 1954-1995. Prior to coming to PYP, he taught at Columbia University (1946-54). He is also an internationally known composer. His commissions include: Symphony: The Oregon; The Thirteen Clocks; Phases of the Great Land; Glorious th'Assembled Fires; Symphony of Songs. He served on National Humanities Council (1968-74) and the National Arts Endowment, Music Planning Section (1977-79). In addition to being honored by the PCPA Foundation, Mr. Avshalomov's awards include: Ditson Fellowship in Composition; Bloch Award; Guggenheim Fellowship; N.Y. Music Critics-Circle Award; Naumburg Recording Award; Ditson Conductor's Award; Governor's Arts Award; American Symphony Orchestra League Award; Portland First Citizen.

Linda Magee, Executive Director of Chamber Music Northwest

Now in her third decade as executive director of Chamber Music Northwest, Linda Magee has served on the board of Chamber Music America and on grants panels for the National Endowment for the Arts. Locally she has been involved with the Regional Arts and Culture Council, the Oregon Arts Commission, the City Club of Portland, Portland Arts Alliance and the Northwest Earth Institute. A musician herself, she has helped grow Chamber Music Northwest into a widely respected arts organization, known for the caliber of its musicians and programming and also for its track record of financial stability. In 2002, Ms. Magee was named as the first Woman of Distinction for the Arts by Marylhurst University, and last year was honored by the Willamette Valley Development Officers with the Barbara Stallcup Miller Career Achievement Award.

Sondra Pearlman, founder of Oregon Children’s Theatre

Sondra Pearlman founded Oregon Children’s Theatre in 1988 at Portland Civic Theatre. In 1991, OCT became a permanent resident company at the Portland Center for the Performing Arts. Pearlman’s vision is expressed in OCT’s mission to advance the growth, development and creativity of young people through exceptional theatre experiences. By the end of this its 23rd season, well over two million will have had an OCT experience through school and family performances, in-school workshops and studio classes. OCT’s national recognition in play development extends its impact well beyond the Oregon borders. In addition to being honored by the PCPA Foundation, Pearlman was a recipient of the 2003 Governor’s Arts Award and the 2009 Imagination Award from OCT.

The Portland Walk of Stars is hosted by the PCPA Foundation and recognizes community leaders who have made significant contributions to the city through the arts. It was started in 1998 by the Friends of the Performing Arts Center (now the PCPA Foundation) and benefits the Portland Center for the Performing Arts venues including: the Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall, Keller Auditorium and Antoinette Hatfield Hall, which houses the Newmark and Dolores Winningstad theatres and Brunish Hall.

Past recipients include: Brian Booth, Gwyneth Gamble Booth, James DePreist, Michael Allen Harrison, William Jamison, Vera Katz, Norman Leyden, Mike Lindberg, James "Jimmy" Miller, Terence O’Donnell, Selina Roberts Ottum, Michael Powell, Thomas Vaughan, Jean Vollum and Barbara Walker.

The Walk of Stars will be held on Wednesday, June 8, at 11:30 a.m. at the Dolores Winningstad Theatre at 1111 SW Broadway at Main, inside the Antoinette Hatfield Hall. Individual tickets and tables are available by calling 503-274-6556.

Learn more about Portland Center for the Performing Arts

Share this: